Sesame Street Magic

I remember the days when my lola would let me sit on the couch, turn on the TV, switch the channel to Sesame Street and hand me some snacks. I would always ask her for the time so that I don’t miss out on any episode. Cable wasn’t the “in” thing yet. I just depended on local channels.

I loved the show because you could see different things from just one episode. There were variations. There were singing, dancing, guessing and playing. You could see people interacting with puppets (“Muppets”). It featured funny skits and cartoons. Their songs were addicting to the point that some gave me LSS or Last Song Syndrome. They  also gave me the impression that not all monsters are mean, ugly and hungry for human flesh. 😛

I had 2 favorite skits: (1) Grover and Mr. Blue Guy   and (2) the violet Siamese twins.

sesame twins.jpg

The violet twins are my personal favorite. My sister and I would imagine that that’s us because we’d often disagree on something but we know that we eventually we have to agree to be able to be more productive. She said she’s the one with the hair, I was the one with the beard.

I’m glad that 26 years later, Sesame Street is still around for my daughter.

Lexi likes Elmo, Telly and Baby Bear. Right now, she’s at that stage where she laughs like Ernie.

The best lesson that I think Lexi was able to pick up from Sesame Street is “Empathy”.

For example, Telly would be worried of something, Lexi would say “Oh no, Mommy! Poor Telly!”

Then the most recent episode she watched, “Peter and the Wolf”. The wolf has cornered Elmo, Zoe and Oscar up the tree. The wolf was jumping and the three were calling for help, I saw Lexi’s smile turn upside down. She was very quiet. She was almost about to tear up when I asked her why she was sad. She replied, “Mommy, wolf! Wolf don’t eat Oscar! Shew! Shew!”

Since Lexi doesn’t have playmates, she was also able to relate to these  kids on TV. Although not physically, Lexi would follow them and sometimes act like them.

I really wish Sesame Street would continue to make more episodes.  I’ve learned a lot from them and my kid is learning from them now. There’s something about that show that kids of different generations find endearing.

 

Leave a Reply

